top of page
Search
  • abradbur4

midterm

my concept started out with the idea of femininity and has branched out into a concept of invasiveness. the idea was that a lot of us go through traumatic things as we grow and even when it seems like we've come out the other side, there are these past experiences or thoughts that invade our new experiences. as much as we try to pretend like these thoughts are not here, it can be hard to not let them affect you or get in the way.


I started out just sketching different women, ones that I thought had a pretty monotone expression or women trying to look past something.



I next looked into the definition of invasiveness and what can be categorized as invasive. The idea of invasive species is a concrete visual so I started researching plants and found certain ivy that can take over buildings as well as kudzu in the southern states. I started sketching some of these leaves and playing around with the idea of embroidery. I then became curious about different kids of animals that can be considered invasive and sketched some of those as well.






I settled on a model that I liked and drew her inside a frame. the idea is that the plants are invading her space. I decided against the idea to use the animals within the plants but maybe in the end if it needs something else, I can try out the different species together. it is not a finished work because I wanted to experiment more with embroidery and color. But in the end it will have a combination of embroidered leaves on a sheer tulle fabric that can hang over the drawing as well as watercolored plants that are invading her frame.




After all the experimentation with thread and fabrics as well as drawing and watercolor, I settled on an idea of how to combine so I will continue to work on the combination of the three mediums within the same work.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page