top of page
Search
  • abradbur4

"How to be an Artist"

I found the article “How to be an Artist” by Jerry Saltz an enlightening and positive read. I think every artist has felt these negative or anxious feelings before no matter if they are just starting out or if they’ve been doing it for years. For me, I think lesson # 7 speaks the loudest. I always feel more inspired and motivated if I am just doing something. Messing with materials and creating something with whatever I have. Lesson #3 made sense also because in past painting/drawing classes I’ve taken, that was always a project we would have to complete, an imitation of a master work in our own way. I think the article matches up to my experience as an artist for far because there are some tips in here that you learn in classes and talking to other people about creating art, I’ve just always had a hard time pushing myself the way Saltz talks about. Going forward, my focus will be to completing a work with meaning behind it and being proud of what was created. I had heard about many of the artists named in the article but had a different perspective on Philip Guston. I have seen his work at MoMA before but liked seeing his original work that he created before coming into the displayed work. I think seeing the overall process artists have in their lifetime is helpful for struggling artists.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page