top of page
Search
  • abradbur4

Art Tutorials III

At the beginning of the semester I thought about how I wanted to create during the next few weeks together. I knew I wanted to get away from painting and I have always had an interest in fiber art.

At first I imagined an embroidery project with bits of fabric cut out into an image like this

The idea was to create a light space around the woman and past her darkness. When I sat down to start, I was looking through all of my materials and started leaning more towards weaving. I want to take the project in more of a direction toward women's experiences and how they can shape the person. These experiences are what make her the person she is today, good or bad memories are still there. What I envisioned to be more of a mother and child experience is no longer of interest to me but focusing more on the woman herself.


The last few weeks I've been working on adding layer by later to this portrait. Im beginning to work on her face/head and will continue to refine as I go. The long string at the top is just to help me see where her proportions will go as I work.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page